Author Topic: PDF with e-signature  (Read 2928 times)

myshafi44

• View Profile
PDF with e-signature
« on: November 24, 2015, 07:03:06 AM »
I have a requirement coming up to archive e-signed PDF into CMOD. This is my first time working with e-signed PDF's. I want to know what is the best way to archive e-signed PDF's and any documentation will be helpful.

I have the following questions too.

1. Most of our documents archived today in cmod are AFP's. Is there a possibility that I can get e-signed AFP version to archive and transform the same to e-sign PDF while accessing it?
2. There are going to be bank account numbers on the PDF's, is there any way I can mask the bank account numbers on the PDF's while displaying the same? Can I display the bank account numbers based on the users accessing the PDF's?

Justin Derrick

• IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: PDF with e-signature
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2015, 04:07:28 PM »
I suspect a few problems.

A digitally signed PDF can't be modified in any way -- not even to add indexing information inline -- otherwise the digital signature is broken, and the document becomes invalid.  This means you'd have to store the full-sized copy of the PDF, which defeats some of the advancements in PDF indexing in the newest versions of CMOD.

I also don't know what you mean by e-signed AFP.  I don't think this is something that's supported, unless you're talking about creating separate cryptographic signature(s) with an external tool like PGP. 

Also, referring back to my first paragraph, you can't redact or tokenize customer account numbers with signed PDFs, because doing so would modify the PDF file, breaking the signature.  The only way around this that I can think of, is that you'd have to encrypt the document at the same time it's signed.  But then you need to manage the credentials for that document.  It's a bit of a mess.