Author Topic: CMOD -HCP Integration  (Read 408 times)

Gobi21

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
CMOD -HCP Integration
« on: November 14, 2016, 09:59:06 PM »
Does CMOD support the Hitachi HCP if it does what protocol can we use? /Rest, S3/.

we are using CMOD 9.x version. and planning to get rid of TSM by integrating CMOD directly with HCP.

Is it possible. Please provide your comments and suggestions.

Justin Derrick

  • IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1297
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: CMOD -HCP Integration
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2016, 04:27:21 AM »
I'm not familiar with Hitachi's offerings, but if you can mount it as a filesystem (SAN/NFS/etc.) you can add it as an extra cache filesystem.  There's a problem here, because with the default object size, you probably have billions of files, which create a problem in your cache1 filesystem -- you might run out of inodes because of all the links you need to create.  This is one of the times where it might make sense to reload some of your data into a new AG (with a larger object size, and configured for cache-only storage).

-JD.
#Install, #Educate, #Repair, #Upgrade, #Migrate, #Enhance, #Optimize.

Call:  +1-866-533-7742
Click:  http://JustinDerrick.com/
eMail:  jd@justinderrick.com
IBM CMOD Wiki:  http://CMOD.wiki/

Interests:  #AIX6 #AIX7 #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2v9 #DB2v10 #TSM #Tivoli #Performance #Security #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #Training

Alessandro Perucchi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 933
    • View Profile
Re: CMOD -HCP Integration
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2017, 02:10:49 PM »
Today (CMOD V9.5.0.7) CMOD supports the following storage manager:

- TSM
- Disks (Cache on a filesystem, NFS, ...)
- OpenStack Swift
- Hadoop HDFS

and that's it. If your HCP can be used in any of these way, then yes, If the HCP use some other way to store documents, then no.
I know that the CMOD team is working to have more storage managers... but which one, and when they will be included in CMOD... that's something I have ZERO idea.
Maybe an enhancement could be requested in such special case.

Regards,
Alessandro
Alessandro Perucchi

#Install #Migrations #Conversion #Educate #Repair #Upgrade #Migrate #Enhance #Optimize #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #Windows #Oracle #TSM #Tivoli #Performance #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #JavaApi #ContentNavigator #ICN #WEBi #ODWEK #Services #PDF #AFP #XML

Valentin Schmid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: CMOD -HCP Integration
« Reply #3 on: January 30, 2017, 01:13:49 AM »
Hello all,

Just to be sure.
If we want to use NetApp SnapLock WORM, we have to use a TSM/SSAM Layer between NetApp and CMOD?

Regards
Valentin

Justin Derrick

  • IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1297
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: CMOD -HCP Integration
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2017, 07:15:04 AM »
Hi Valentin.

Yes, TSM is required in order to be able to use the WORM features of SnapLock.  Mounting a snaplock volume without TSM is just regular disk.

Some companies have built their own integration layer (locking cache files for a particular duration) but I don't advise it.  Once TSM is configured properly, there should be little to no regular 'care and feeding' required.

-JD.
#Install, #Educate, #Repair, #Upgrade, #Migrate, #Enhance, #Optimize.

Call:  +1-866-533-7742
Click:  http://JustinDerrick.com/
eMail:  jd@justinderrick.com
IBM CMOD Wiki:  http://CMOD.wiki/

Interests:  #AIX6 #AIX7 #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2v9 #DB2v10 #TSM #Tivoli #Performance #Security #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #Training

Alessandro Perucchi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 933
    • View Profile
Re: CMOD -HCP Integration
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2017, 07:22:43 AM »
Hello all,

Just to be sure.
If we want to use NetApp SnapLock WORM, we have to use a TSM/SSAM Layer between NetApp and CMOD?

My advice is YES.
If you use the WORM functionality of NetApp SnapLock and use CMOD with the cache only, then you will get lots of permissions problems, since CMOD does a lot of operation with the cache... and you will get some strange errors.
So NetApp SnapLock WORM should only be used with TSM/SSAM in conjunction with CMOD.

Maybe some other people here have other thought or experience, and please share them :-)

Regards,
Alessandro
Alessandro Perucchi

#Install #Migrations #Conversion #Educate #Repair #Upgrade #Migrate #Enhance #Optimize #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #Windows #Oracle #TSM #Tivoli #Performance #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #JavaApi #ContentNavigator #ICN #WEBi #ODWEK #Services #PDF #AFP #XML