Author Topic: Efficient retrieval of a large number of large documents  (Read 1817 times)

nnemcek

• View Profile
Efficient retrieval of a large number of large documents
« on: August 07, 2023, 06:47:46 AM »
I have several hundred files that I would like to copy to my PC, most are 9999 pages long.  I can get them one at a time but it very time consuming, are there are any tips or tricks for doing this more efficiently ?  I plan to use powershell scripts to help me find the needle in the haystack I'm looking for once I get all of the data.

jsquizz

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: Efficient retrieval of a large number of large documents
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2023, 09:18:41 AM »
i have no experience writing powershell scripts, but if i was to do this in bash:

I'd get a listing of the DOC_NAME's from the system log or the data table.. Then do-

arsdoc get -u user -p password -agcNv -G "App group" -i "where DOC_NAME='FAA2'" -o docname -h cmodhost

or you can do something like-

arsdoc get -u user -p password -agcNv -G "App group" -i "where ACCTNO='12345'" -o docname -h cmodhost

first option is more efficient, get the complete docs via the DOC_NAME.
second option will take alot of time, but it will work if you have a listing of metadata to retrieve.
#CMOD #DB2 #AFP2PDF #TSM #AIX #RHEL #AWS #AZURE #GCP #EVERYTHING

nnemcek

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2023, 04:45:35 PM »
So, I only have access to the windows client, where is an interface where you can type commands?  I noticed that I could ftp the server I am accessing, but when I did an "ls" I basically saw nothing (no files or directories).  What am I missing?   Is there is an admin piece within my organization I need to locate? I can do that but I work for a very large company with a complex people structure.

Justin Derrick

• IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting