Author Topic: ICN to CMOD and CMEE  (Read 1050 times)

Smitty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
ICN to CMOD and CMEE
« on: February 01, 2018, 10:50:09 AM »
We use CMOD and CMEE, both with their own separate ICN front end. I know ICN is capable of accessing/doing lookups from multiple repositories at the same time and returning the results. Basically, users want to do a search in CMEE and retrieve documents from CMEE and CMOD.

Anyone using this set up?

Thanks,

Smitty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: ICN to CMOD and CMEE
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2018, 05:43:28 AM »
Maybe start with a more basic question...

Anyone using ICN in a cross-repository environment?

Justin Derrick

  • IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1777
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: ICN to CMOD and CMEE
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2018, 08:09:23 AM »
And for further clarification, CMEE is Content Manager Enterprise Edition, a.k.a. CMv8.

I'm embarrassed to admit I had to look it up.  :D

-JD.
#Install, #Educate, #Repair, #Upgrade, #Migrate, #Enhance, #Optimize.

IBM CMOD Professional Services: http://TenaciousConsulting.com
Call:  +1-866-533-7742  or  eMail:  jd@justinderrick.com
IBM CMOD Wiki:  https://CMOD.wiki/

Interests: #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #TSM #SA #Performance #Security #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #Training

Stephen McNulty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: ICN to CMOD and CMEE
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2018, 07:48:24 AM »
And for further clarification, CMEE is Content Manager Enterprise Edition, a.k.a. CMv8.

I'm embarrassed to admit I had to look it up.  :D

-JD.

you're embarrassed, we are still running CM 7.3 ( on iSeries)
#ISERIES #ODWEK #XML

Joe Wolken

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
  • CMOD iSeries Consultant
    • View Profile
    • OAS Corp.
Re: ICN to CMOD and CMEE
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2018, 08:33:48 AM »
Unfortunately, there is not an IBM supported ICN connector to CM iSeries.  Also, IBM has announced that End-of-Support for CM iSeries is later this year, Sept. 30, 2018.  With this EOS, one option is to migrate your CM iSeries repository to CMOD iSeries to get on a supported product and have a single user interface for retrieval.
Installation, Upgrade, Migration, Administration, Integration, Customization, Training, and more!

Call: 512-402-1123
email: wolkenj@oascorp.com 
Click: http://www.OASCorp.com

Smitty

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: ICN to CMOD and CMEE
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2018, 08:43:46 AM »
Unfortunately, there is not an IBM supported ICN connector to CM iSeries.  Also, IBM has announced that End-of-Support for CM iSeries is later this year, Sept. 30, 2018.  With this EOS, one option is to migrate your CM iSeries repository to CMOD iSeries to get on a supported product and have a single user interface for retrieval.

We are running CMOD/CMEE on their own AIX server. From the ICN on the CMEE side, we want access CMOD (cross-repository). According to IBM all we need to do is install the ODWEK software on the CMEE server to talk to CMOD.

We are just waiting for Mgmt's approval to install ODWEK and try it out.

CMOD-user

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: ICN to CMOD and CMEE
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2018, 11:15:36 PM »
I am thinking you are already using ICN from CMEE and pulling docs from CM 7.3 ( on iSeries).
Is this a supported architecture from IBM?
I am assuming you are leaving the i-series as is and not moving your data to CMEE.
Looking for similar exercise on ours too.

Thank you