Author Topic: Break=YES vs Break=NO  (Read 635 times)

DDP021

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
Break=YES vs Break=NO
« on: October 09, 2018, 02:44:51 AM »
We have a report where the application has 26 (yes 26) indexes.  This is a text report.  When we run it through the Report Wizard it sets all the indexes to BREAK=YES.  We have many reports that are generated from the mainframe and sent to CMOD.  When these reports were initially converted to CMOD years ago, we've noticed, on their indexing, some fields are set to BREAK=YES while others are set to BREAK=NO...We know there has to be a rational for doing this but never really understood what that is.  Looking for any explanation....;-)

Justin Derrick

  • IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: Break=YES vs Break=NO
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2018, 04:52:09 AM »
The 'BREAK' parameter determines if a change in that field will result in the creation of a new document (a new database row, with new metadata, etc.).

You'd want to break on customer number, but not on another field, say, for zip codes, as you may have more than one customer per zip code, and don't want all customers inside that zip code to be able to see each other's documents.

-JD.
#Install, #Educate, #Repair, #Upgrade, #Migrate, #Enhance, #Optimize.

IBM CMOD Professional Services: http://TenaciousConsulting.com
Call:  +1-866-533-7742  or  eMail:  jd@justinderrick.com
IBM CMOD Wiki:  https://CMOD.wiki/

Interests: #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #TSM #SA #Performance #Security #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #Training

jsquizz

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Re: Break=YES vs Break=NO
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2018, 12:02:47 PM »
Correct me if I am wrong, it has been a few years..

On something with that many fields, and Break=yes to all, wouldnt that take a LONG time to index? Depending on the file?
#AIX #CMOD #DB2 #TSM #XENOS #AFP2PDF #MIGRATION #TROUBLESHOOT

Justin Derrick

  • IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1755
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: Break=YES vs Break=NO
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2018, 03:30:35 AM »
Correct me if I am wrong, it has been a few years..

On something with that many fields, and Break=yes to all, wouldnt that take a LONG time to index? Depending on the file?

More breaks = more documents = more index rows = more inserts into the database = more time.  :)

But it shouldn't be a huge problem.  CMOD is built for this sort of thing.
#Install, #Educate, #Repair, #Upgrade, #Migrate, #Enhance, #Optimize.

IBM CMOD Professional Services: http://TenaciousConsulting.com
Call:  +1-866-533-7742  or  eMail:  jd@justinderrick.com
IBM CMOD Wiki:  https://CMOD.wiki/

Interests: #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #TSM #SA #Performance #Security #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #Training

DDP021

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
Re: Break=YES vs Break=NO
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2018, 05:31:14 AM »
Thanks Justin!....Your explanation does clarify things...This particular application is quite large....We questioned them prior on whether it was a need for so many indexes and they indicated they use all of them for searching in order to get to the exact information they need...As always, thanks for the info!...Take care....Dave

jsquizz

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 362
    • View Profile
Re: Break=YES vs Break=NO
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2018, 04:19:43 PM »
CMOD is built for this sort of thing.

I'll remember this ;)
#AIX #CMOD #DB2 #TSM #XENOS #AFP2PDF #MIGRATION #TROUBLESHOOT