Author Topic: Tips/advice on Storage management -- Load vs. Segment  (Read 1267 times)

adomeij

• View Profile
Tips/advice on Storage management -- Load vs. Segment
« on: January 14, 2020, 03:23:59 AM »
Hi,
I'm fairly new at designing archives in CMOD, working in a group with more seasoned CMOD people.
I need some expert help when it comes to storage management since I disagree with my colleagues   :-\ .
I get files with documents that are to be archived. The files contain appr. 5000 documents each and each document has a "document-date". There are days when I get 200+ of these files and other days when I get none.
I have no issues when loading the files.
Most of the time, the "document-date" is in close proximity to the date I receive the file (i.e. today - [2..7]days).
Each document is to be stored in the archive for "document-date" + retention-time.
The "do it by the book" solution is to choose "Storage Management"-->"Segment" and mark the "document-date" with the segment property, which is what I proposed.
My colleagues on the other hand opted for a "this is how we've always done" solution, choosing "Storage Management"-->"Load" and extending the retention time by 2 months, well aware and excepting the risk that some document(s) might be expired sooner than intended.
They claim that ARSMAINT will clean expired documents a lot faster when "Storage Management" is set to "Load" since the whole "Load-Id" (5000 documents) expire at once whereas ARSMAINT will have to check each document individually if "Storage Management" is set to segment and be significantly slower and/or need much more resources.
I can't find any documentation supporting their claim but they tried "Segment" once (a long time ago)  and base their  recommendation on that experience.

So my questions are
does "Storage Management"-->"Segment" actually induce a "severe" performance/resource penalty over "Storage Management"-->"Segment" when ARSMAINT expires documents?