Author Topic: CMOD 9.5 to 10.1 when 10.1 is already running  (Read 282 times)

chuckalugk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
CMOD 9.5 to 10.1 when 10.1 is already running
« on: December 19, 2019, 08:18:27 AM »
Hello,

Currently we have CMOD 9.5 and 10.1 running on a LPAR.  The 9.5 has servers, the 10.1 uses the fat client.  Since 9.5 will go unsupported next year, what will need to be done to upgrade the 9.5 using servers to 10.1 using the fat client?

Justin Derrick

  • IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1885
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: CMOD 9.5 to 10.1 when 10.1 is already running
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 05:22:45 AM »
So, you want to migrate the data over into CMOD v10.1, rather than just restore the v9.5 database on the v10.1 installation, because you're already using v10.1 in production?

You'll have to give us a lot more information so we can understand the situation...  Help us to help you better!  :)

-JD.
IBM CMOD Professional Services: http://TenaciousConsulting.com
Call:  +1-866-533-7742  or  eMail:  jd@justinderrick.com
IBM CMOD Wiki:  https://CMOD.wiki/
FREE IBM CMOD Education & Webinars:  https://CMOD.Training/

Interests: #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #TSM #SP #Performance #Security #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR

chuckalugk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CMOD 9.5 to 10.1 when 10.1 is already running
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2019, 08:54:31 AM »
On our China system we have 9.5 running, using servers.. not the fat client.  We need to upgrade to 10.1. 

On our North American system, we have both 9.5 and 10.1.  The 9.5 was used for the China project, and uses servers.  The 10.1 is for a Mobius to CMOD conversion and will use the fat client.

Please advise what is the best way to get everything on 10.1 using the fat client. 

I appreciate you time and help!

Nolan

  • Global Moderator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 144
    • View Profile
Re: CMOD 9.5 to 10.1 when 10.1 is already running
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2020, 08:12:24 AM »
Your response is still very unclear on what you are trying to accomplish.  The server and the client are to different parts and can run at different levels. (see compatibility matrix)

What you need to do is upgrade your servers to 10.1.x in all locations to be running a fully supported product.

For the thick client, you can roll out the updated version 10.1.x to your user base before or after the server is upgraded.
If you have users using ICN, then that server should also get the updated OnDemand server binaries installed for ODWEK.
J.

#zOS #AIX #Windows #Multiplatforms
#DB2 #TSM #ODF #zODF #ODWEK
#CapacityPlanning #AFP #ReportDistribution
#Finance #ICN

Ed_Arnold

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 971
    • View Profile
Re: CMOD 9.5 to 10.1 when 10.1 is already running
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2020, 11:17:42 AM »
Echoing the others, it's not clear exactly what you want to do.

Correct me if any of this is incorrect:

Are you trying to combine CMOD instances or just upgrade each on in place?

If you're trying to upgrade each one in place then we have two different scenarios.

(1) CMOD serving up data via "servers" --- which I take it are WebSphere or Apache?

First upgrade your admin client right now to 10.1.0.5 

Then ensure your "servers" and ODWEK code is at a mutually compatible level.

Then upgrade the server as per the applicable readme.

(2) CMOD serving up data via the thick client

First upgrade your admin client right now to 10.1.0.5

Ensure your clients are at a mutually compatible level

https://www.ibm.com/support/pages/compatibility-matrix-content-manager-ondemand-clients-and-servers

Then upgrade the server as per the applicable readme

Ed
#zOS #ODF

chuckalugk

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: CMOD 9.5 to 10.1 when 10.1 is already running
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2020, 05:25:16 AM »
Sorry for the confusion.   We want to upgrade the 9.5 to 10.1, but go from servers to fat client.   Basically get rid of the servers and upgrade to the latest version.