Author Topic: NFS for Archive Storage  (Read 5386 times)

run8

• View Profile
NFS for Archive Storage
« on: March 03, 2011, 02:36:05 PM »
Has anyone successfully used a mounted NFS filesystem as part of the archive storage for iSeries?

This document suggests it's possible..
http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docview.wss?uid=swg27010455&aid=1

However the documents' examples use an iSeries system for both the client and NFS server. My customer wants to use an NFS server implemention on Windows 7 Enterprise.

If anyone has used a similar setup (non-iSeries NFS server) I'd be interested in hearing problems, solutions, gotchas etc.

...John Reay
...John Reay
Run 8 Systems Inc.
Toronto

Alessandro Perucchi

• Global Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: NFS for Archive Storage
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2011, 04:19:45 AM »
Hello John,

I've been an Unix Admin before being an CMOD admin for many years, and there is one thing I know, don't use NFS for any critical setup.
If there are any network problem, or server problem on the NFS server side, then you could have some big issues.

NFS is nice, but one needs to be careful with it.

The main advice I can also give you, the server who writes file, should be server.
If a client try to write on the share, and for any reason the path where is the nfs mounted is not accessible anymore, then you might have different scenario:

1) it write in local filesystem and not in the remote NFS filesystem, causing some strange synchronisation problem
2) blocks, and wait until the server is able to speak again
3) or you might have an error, and it means you'll need to redo your operation.

Anyway, another thing that I find incredible is Windows 7 Enterprise for NFS. NFS is meant for Unix, and every implementation of NFS on Windows I've used was a nightmare. I would avoid it at any rate.
It would cheaper and more reliable to use a small Linux than any Windows server for such usage, at any point of view.