Author Topic: Installation error with database  (Read 4662 times)

jeffs42885

  • Guest
Installation error with database
« on: March 24, 2015, 04:56:49 AM »
Please keep in mind, it's been many many moons since i've installed CMOD, and the documentation was left at my old employer. I am trying to run the arsdb command after verifying that all the config files are setup..Search in this instance is useless and of course, I can't open a PMR.

[root@localhost bin]# ./arsdb -I archive -gcv
ARS4015I Starting the DB2 ARCHIVE database instance
ARS4079E Unable to start database ARCHIVE.  SQLCODE = -1390
arsdb:  ARS4016E Unable to start the DB2 ARCHIVE database instance
[root@localhost bin]# ARS4079E Unable to start database ARCHIVE.  SQLCODE = -1390

per google, try -rtv

[root@localhost bin]# ./arsdb -I archive -rtv
arsdb:  ARS4012E Unable to initialize environment. The return code is 1

db2 is up and running..CentOS btw.

Justin Derrick

  • IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2231
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: Installation error with database
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2015, 09:04:43 AM »
It's DB2 that's crapping out -- check the diagnostic logs, and try starting DB2 manually, and correcting any errors that occur.

Try these commands in order to see if you can get the database up and running:

db2 start database manager
db2 activate database archive
db2 connect to archive
db2 terminate


IBM CMOD Professional Services: http://TenaciousConsulting.com
Call:  +1-866-533-7742  or  eMail:  jd@justinderrick.com
IBM CMOD Wiki:  https://CMOD.wiki/
FREE IBM CMOD Education & Webinars:  https://CMOD.Training/

Interests: #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #TSM #SP #Performance #Security #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR

jeffs42885

  • Guest
Re: Installation error with database
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2015, 10:38:05 AM »
Yeah i missed a step somewhere.

[db2inst1@localhost root]$ db2 activate database archive
SQL1031N  The database directory cannot be found on the indicated file system.
SQLSTATE=58031

not finding db2icrt

Justin Derrick

  • IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2231
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: Installation error with database
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2015, 07:42:32 AM »
Yeah, delete the instance (db2idrop) and start over again from that point in the documentation.  Good luck!

-JD.
IBM CMOD Professional Services: http://TenaciousConsulting.com
Call:  +1-866-533-7742  or  eMail:  jd@justinderrick.com
IBM CMOD Wiki:  https://CMOD.wiki/
FREE IBM CMOD Education & Webinars:  https://CMOD.Training/

Interests: #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #TSM #SP #Performance #Security #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR

Alessandro Perucchi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1002
    • View Profile
Re: Installation error with database
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2015, 07:33:21 AM »
Please keep in mind, it's been many many moons since i've installed CMOD, and the documentation was left at my old employer. I am trying to run the arsdb command after verifying that all the config files are setup..Search in this instance is useless and of course, I can't open a PMR.

[root@localhost bin]# ./arsdb -I archive -gcv
ARS4015I Starting the DB2 ARCHIVE database instance
ARS4079E Unable to start database ARCHIVE.  SQLCODE = -1390
arsdb:  ARS4016E Unable to start the DB2 ARCHIVE database instance
[root@localhost bin]# ARS4079E Unable to start database ARCHIVE.  SQLCODE = -1390

per google, try -rtv

[root@localhost bin]# ./arsdb -I archive -rtv
arsdb:  ARS4012E Unable to initialize environment. The return code is 1

db2 is up and running..CentOS btw.

Can you show us the ars.ini? Are you sure you did the setup with root?
Are your ars.ini & ars.cfg correctly setup?

All of these questions are important to understand the problem you are facing.
Alessandro Perucchi

#Install #Migrations #Conversion #Educate #Repair #Upgrade #Migrate #Enhance #Optimize #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #Windows #Oracle #TSM #Tivoli #Performance #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #JavaApi #ContentNavigator #ICN #WEBi #ODWEK #Services #PDF #AFP #XML

jeffs42885

  • Guest
Re: Installation error with database
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2015, 12:41:12 PM »
I think thats where my mistakes are.

I did the install with my regular ECM user
and I am unsure if ars.cfg and ars.ini are configured correctly.

Alessandro Perucchi

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1002
    • View Profile
Re: Installation error with database
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2015, 05:54:12 AM »
would it possible to look at your ars.ini ? Then we can look at the main points of ars.dbfs and ars.cfg.

Basically in ars.ini you have the following:

[@SRV@_ARCHIVE]
HOST=
PROTOCOL=2
PORT=0
SRVR_INSTANCE=ARCHIVE
SRVR_INSTANCE_OWNER=root
SRVR_OD_CFG=/opt/ibm/ondemand/V9.0/config/ars.cfg
SRVR_DB_CFG=/opt/ibm/ondemand/V9.0/config/ars.dbfs
SRVR_SM_CFG=/opt/ibm/ondemand/V9.0/config/ars.cache

If CMOD instance is on the same server, you can leave the option HOST= as is.
The port can be changed if 1445 (which is in fact the default for value 0) is not good for you.
SRVR_INSTANCE is you DB2 Database name
SRVR_INSTANCE_ROOT is the user which is the CMOD instance owner.

Now the important things about DB2, in ars.cfg (file which is pointed with the variable SRVR_OD_CFG) contains a lot of options, and they need to be correct if you want to build your own CMOD Instance. And therefore you can have many errors like the one you are showing us.

in ars.cfg, you have the following options that are for DB2 critical:

ARS_DB_ENGINE=DB2

The ARS_DB_ENGINE variable must be set to DB2.

DB2INSTANCE=XYZ

The DB2INSTANCE varibale must be set with the DB2 Instance owner. It can be the same as the CMOD Instance owner, but not obligatory.

ARS_DB2_DATABASE_PATH=/arsdb
ARS_DB2_PRIMARY_LOGPATH=/arsdb_primarylog
ARS_DB2_ARCHIVE_LOGPATH=/arsdb_archivelog
ARS_DB2_LOGFILE_SIZE=1000
ARS_DB2_LOG_NUMBER=40

These variables are only used if you want to create the database with the command "arsdb -c ..." If you want to create your database yourself, then you don't need these variables.
Of course if you set a path there (eg variable ARS_DB2_DATABASE_PATH) then you must ensure that the directory is already there, CMOD will never create it for you. And be sure to set the correct permission (here the DB2 Instance owner).



And finally you have the file ars.dbfs, this file is important if you want that CMOD does some "load balancing" for tablespace and create tablespaces in some special filesystems.
(that is valid only for local databases, remote databases cannot use that CMOD functionality).

And of course if you write a directory in ars.dbfs, then it must be created beforhand with always the correct permissions.


I hope that helps a little bit, and if you need more help, then please show us a bit more of your config.

Alex
Alessandro Perucchi

#Install #Migrations #Conversion #Educate #Repair #Upgrade #Migrate #Enhance #Optimize #AIX #Linux #Multiplatforms #DB2 #Windows #Oracle #TSM #Tivoli #Performance #Audits #Customizing #Availability #HA #DR #JavaApi #ContentNavigator #ICN #WEBi #ODWEK #Services #PDF #AFP #XML