Author Topic: CMOD (Windows) - DR scenarios?  (Read 3752 times)

Shannan

CMOD (Windows) - DR scenarios?
« on: February 22, 2010, 11:32:06 AM »
As my id shows, I'm a newbie - we are preparing to install OD  in our production environment.  We are currently running CM 8.3 and have a secondary library server (hadr), resource manager (replicated), and 2 eclient servers.  One of each server type is at a one of two locations, and if one server or site goes down we can switch to the the 'spare'.  So for OnDemand, is there a best practice of how to handle DR or redundancy of servers?  I understand the nightly backup, etc...  but is there a good way of maintaining a replicated server with OD? 

Justin Derrick

• IBM Content Manager OnDemand Consultant
  • Administrator
  • CMOD Guru for hire...
    • View Profile
    • Tenacious Consulting
Re: CMOD (Windows) - DR scenarios?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2010, 07:14:46 AM »
Hi Shannan.

With CMOD, there's no simple way to provide DR, as there is in CM.

Most customers I work with choose to go with two production servers in geographically diverse areas, and keep them synced by loading the same data into both sites.

It seems that most server hardware is robust enough to not fail, even after years of service -- for example, I'm scheduled to do an upgrade from an RS/6000 H80 this year -- that's hardware that's 10 years old, and is still dutifully serving users!

What seems to cause the most incidents and downtime now is the human element.  In your CM system with a HADR configuration, if a DBA accidentally drops a table, or a user deletes some documents, that change would be replicated to the remote system -- completely eliminating the benefit of using HADR.

With the dual-hot scenario, you can have two servers up and running, ready to serve your users individually, or in a load-balanced scenario.